PDA

View Full Version : old timber

thefixer
13th May 2007, 10:22 PM
When I first saw this piece of timber I immediately thought old red gum. But then when I put the sliding saw through it I thought "yeah baby come to daddy" Couldn't believe the color and grain in it, so straight to the MC1100 it went. I think I spent more time at the grinder than at the lathe though. It was hard as concrete. Woth the effort I think. Criticisms welcome please, I'm still a beginner. And I know I should have turned the tenon off but I may put it back in the lathe later and make thinner when I get some better chisels.

OGYT
14th May 2007, 03:59 AM
In the timber plank it makes me think of an old teak crossbeam. But don't know what teak looks like finished up. Whatever it is, it's beautiful timber.
Don't blame ya... about the tenon.

Skew ChiDAMN!!
14th May 2007, 04:37 PM
Hmmm... pity you can't do a positive ID on it. With that shape, if it's that hard and 'twas known to be food safe, I'd be inclined to leave it alone; just turn a pestle from a contrasting wood, perhaps a dark walnut, to end up with a nice mortar & pestle set! :thyel:

On second thoughts, I'd think about grinding away a smallish part of the inner lip to make it easier to pour the contents out, but I don't think I'd turn it any thinner or even remove the tenon. For some things, solid is better. :wink:

Simomatra
14th May 2007, 06:08 PM
Only a beginner too

It looks as you say a bit thick but you can re do it if you end up not happy with the thickness

Nice piece of timber

rsser
14th May 2007, 06:25 PM
Could be Brushbox. That was often used for piers and bridges and has a high silica content that will blunt a tool after one or two passes.

Doc Ron
15th May 2007, 12:59 AM
. And I know I should have turned the tenon off