PDA

View Full Version : What glue to use?

dunnp
16th May 2007, 11:52 PM
Hi all.
I'm fairly new at this woodworking stuff & am wondering what type of glue I should be using for general jointing.
I'm building a workbench & used polyurethane glue & biscuits to edge join the hardwood boards for the top. It seemed to work fine, but it's expensive & I'm not sure if it's the best glue for the job or not.
For my own future reference I'd like to know what more experienced people use & recommend.
There are so many glues advertised - PVA, PVR, Titebond 1/2/3 etc all claiming to be the bee-knees. I'm confused. Guidance appreciated.
Cheers.
...Phil

Hickory
17th May 2007, 02:14 AM
For regular all around cabinetry you can't do better than the Titebonds I II or III (or another brand of the same) Poly is overkill in most cases and should be reserved for high stress and weathered uses. I avoid White glues as I have lost confidence in their quality. Old WWer prefer Animal Hide but with all its redeeming qualities it still is a PITA to use.

I rely mostly on Titebond Original and II as they have served me well. #III let me down a few years ago so I haven't trusted it for weathered projects, although it is well advertised. Red or Blue capped Titebond for me.

PHSUK
17th May 2007, 06:49 AM
Phil,

I have a preference for Gorilla Glue. I can say it fulfilled every demand I've placed upon it. True, I've not glued up that much but it sticks like the proverbial poo on a babys blanket.

MurrayD99
17th May 2007, 10:08 AM
Phil,

I have a preference for Gorilla Glue. I can say it fulfilled every demand I've placed upon it. True, I've not glued up that much but it sticks like the proverbial poo on a babys blanket.

Quite so. I have standardised on Gorilla glue too. To get it off fingers, tools etc... I use Wattyl Super Etch Reducer (thinners).

Bob38S
17th May 2007, 10:58 AM