PDA

View Full Version : any one had this problem before

George G
19th May 2007, 09:47 AM
Firstly I would like to say hi to everone, this is my first time. I have been lurking in the background for a while now. Because this forum is so informative untill now I have been able to find the information I needed so I would like to thank the people who run this forum and the people who cotribute. :2tsup:

Ok. Now Has any one seen this happen before? This is the pullie off my lathe.

It is cast aluminum, my first thought is poor casting or poor quality aloy
but as the replacement parts are going to cost about $80 to $90 I would like to make sure it wasn't something I did?

The lathe is a Dynalink variable speed woodlathe I think it is just another geniric asian import looks a lot like the mc900.

Any input would be apreciated thank you.

OGYT
19th May 2007, 10:17 AM
:welcomeani: Welcome to th' forum, GeorgeG. Sorry you're havin' the pulley problems.
Looks to me like mighty poor casting quality. Here in the upover, we call it Chinese pot metal.
Some others are a lot smarter 'n me, tho' so they may know more about it.

ptc
19th May 2007, 10:46 AM
Looks like a white ant had a go at.
Sorry i could no help saying that.
Ogyt summed it up.

George G
19th May 2007, 11:15 AM
Thanks for the replies. I just hope the replacement parts (if they every arrive )didn't come from the same batch.
You get what you pays for seems to be ringing in my ears.:doh:

GC
19th May 2007, 11:58 AM
yes, happened to my MC1100 a while ago.

Took carba-tec months to get the parts in after ordering wrong ones initially, from memory about $26, but all good now working a treat.

How much work as your MC900 done?

GC

George G
19th May 2007, 01:45 PM
yes, happened to my MC1100 a while ago.

Took carba-tec months to get the parts in after ordering wrong ones initially, from memory about $26, but all good now working a treat.

How much work as your MC900 done?

GC