PDA

View Full Version : Drilling

Alan
9th August 2003, 02:27 AM
Hi all,
I am only new to woodturning (have had a lathe for about a month now), and am after some advice.
I want to turn up a pepper and salt grinder set, I have all the pieces that I need but am unsure on how to drill it.

1. Do I put the orger into a drill press or use it on the lathe ???
2. Do I shape it or drill it first ?

Thanks in advance for your advice.
Alan.

Jean Michel
9th August 2003, 04:06 AM
Hi Alan,

You can have a look at instructions from the Woodcraft USA site for the pepper mills at:

http://www2.woodcraft.com/pdf/77B35.pdf

Very interesting...

HTH,

Jean.
My Humble site: http://www.jeanmichel.org

barnsey
9th August 2003, 11:13 AM
Alan,

I drill first, You can do it either way - in drill press or in lathe.

You will find it best to drill from each end. More often than not the bit will wander and if it comes from either end you reduce the error and no-one will notice if they don't actually meet dead center.

When I'm ready to shape the outside I mount it on a mandrel which keeps everything central.

If you read up on the net or other books you will find there are as many ways of proceeding as there are authors so I guess that shows try it out for yourself and find which methods suits your tools, equipment and capabilities.

Good Luck

Jamie

macca2
9th August 2003, 11:46 AM
Alan.....try this site. I used it to turn my first set of mills and found it easy to follow.

The only thing I did wrong was to have the lathe on too higher speed when drilling with the large forstner bit and burnt the bit.

We live and learn.

Cheers Macca

http://www.theturnery.com.au/Projects/pep7.pdf

colh
11th August 2003, 10:27 AM
Alan

I have had a lot of success by following the steps in a series of three articles that appeared in (I think) the English Woodturning magazine, from memory in issues 114 to 116 or thereabouts.

I am up to about number 11 or 12, all of them between 250mm and 350mm long.