PDA

View Full Version : Resin or polyester casting

konstantin
29th May 2007, 09:02 AM
Hello, I have bought some pen kits, you know for fun, and I turned myself a simple pen. I want to make one of snake skin cast in some clear resin but I have little experience with it and I am seeking advice.

Konstantin.

bdar
29th May 2007, 12:43 PM
G'day Konstantin,

Welcome to the pen forum, for cost effectiveness it would be cheaper to purchase pre cast snake skin blanks through Rick - Scrollzilla on the forum here. With Rick in America it would be quick service to order from them. Casting takes a lot of work especially when it come to quality casting. Then there is the expense, resin, vacuum pump, vac chamber, gauges etc. All I can say their quality is fantastic, service as good as the quality and they are nice folks into the bargin. Have a look at some of the pictures of the skins that have been posted and see what you think.
Darren

Simomatra
29th May 2007, 05:18 PM
G'day Konstantin,

Welcome to the pen forum, for cost effectiveness it would be cheaper to purchase pre cast snake skin blanks through Rick - Scrollzilla on the forum here. With Rick in America it would be quick service to order from them. Casting takes a lot of work especially when it come to quality casting. Then there is the expense, resin, vacuum pump, vac chamber, gauges etc. All I can say their quality is fantastic, service as good as the quality and they are nice folks into the bargin. Have a look at some of the pictures of the skins that have been posted and see what you think.
Darren

Got to agree with Darren

Welcome to the forum Konstantin I think you might be our first from Mexico

Enjoy

dai sensei
29th May 2007, 09:06 PM
Welcome Konstantin.

I have being playing around casting my own snake skin blanks using shed skins. I will post mine when finished, but basically I did the following:

coat the sleeve with white epoxy
turn round & remove any lumps by sanding on lathe