PDA

View Full Version : Turning Bowl Troubles

boydy=number1
29th May 2007, 10:18 PM
Hey guys im new to woodturning and when im tuning a bowl i turn the complete outside first gripping with a faceplate or screwchuck. I sand the outside completely and turn a spiggot or a dovetail to suit my nova 50mm chuck jaws, both the dovetail and spiggot i turn are paralell but when i reverse chuck the bowl to turn the inside out i have trouble getting the bowl to run true i then have to re-turn the base to try and true up the bowl can anyone help me with this problem?:-

Cheers

Cliff Rogers
29th May 2007, 11:03 PM
When you say "both the dovetail and spiggot i turn are paralell" what are they parallel with?

Do you mean that the sides of the foot match the sides of the dovetail on the jaws?

After you cut your dovetail or spiggot, you aren't trying to sand them are you?

When you cut them, do you make it so part of the foot of the spiggot or outside of the bowl around the dovetail can sit on the shoulder or floor of the dovetail on the jaws?
If you do that & make it true too, (not rough or sanded back) then you stand a much better chance of getter it to grip square on the jaws.

Hope all that made sense.

thefixer
30th May 2007, 12:49 AM
When you say "both the dovetail and spiggot i turn are paralell" what are they parallel with?

Do you mean that the sides of the foot match the sides of the dovetail on the jaws?

After you cut your dovetail or spiggot, you aren't trying to sand them are you?

When you cut them, do you make it so part of the foot of the spiggot or outside of the bowl around the dovetail can sit on the shoulder or floor of the dovetail on the jaws?
If you do that & make it true too, (not rough or sanded back) then you stand a much better chance of getter it to grip square on the jaws.

Hope all that made sense.

Geez Cliff, if I didn't know what you meant then I wouldn't have known what you meant:D

Cheers
Shorty

TTIT
30th May 2007, 09:21 AM