PDA

View Full Version : HELP ! I'm an idiot!

TheBigBJ
10th August 2003, 07:47 PM
Hi guys,
It occurred to me the other day after a long time spent in reflection that I am an idiot!
I have been turning for a couple of years now and I am constantly having trouble with my bowls when I try to re-chuck them.
The method I use when I am turning bowls is as follows:
I mount the blank on a screw chuck where the profile is turned , anded and finished.
Then I remount the bowl by the foot (I size the foot so the chuck jaws leave no discernable mark) in my scroll chuck. ( I use a Vl200sm lathe and VM 120)
This seems straight forward but I must be missing something as I am yet to turn a bowl with an even thickness around the rim.
I am pretty sure that it is not the method that is wrong because according to Bert Marsh's book it is pretty much the same method he uses to turn bowls that are only 2mm in thickness. Now, I am not comparing myself to Bert but you would think I would have managed to something right by now.
I have a suspicion the problem is over sanding as the thick points are always located near the end grain but I can not be certain.
Has any one had this problem? If so what was your solution?
As I believe I am in need of some proper instrucion I was wondering if there was any one in the Geelong (Victoria) area that would be able to come and give me some lessons at my place. Naturally I will pay (money or beer your choice).
I am also interested in any one elses techniques for bowl turning and re-chucking ( If you'll divulge your secrets)
Hope you can help with my problems.
Thanks From BJ

q9
10th August 2003, 10:48 PM