PDA

View Full Version : Dean ML build and wood ID

daftandhungry
3rd June 2007, 06:24 PM
Hi all.

I have recently started building my first guitar, a Dean ML.

As it is my first attempt I didn't want to buy expensive wood just in case I stuffed up and killed it so I went down to my local Bunnings to see what they had.

For about $35 i got some hardwood but they couldn't tell me what sort of wood it was, nor did they have it listed as anything but "hardwood". It is very heavy, but I don't know much about woods so I can't hazard any guesses.

Just wondering if anyone on here might have some idea what it is.

Haven't got much further than the pic of the body as it is, just neatened up a bit, but it is at work now until i get the time to get it on a sander there.

Thanks,

Scott.

old_picker
3rd June 2007, 08:17 PM
Vic ash is the wood a generic name for what they are pulling out of the bush at the moment....at least here in vic..... dunno what they calls it up there.....

hope it is well dry and don't twist or crack....
i would put it aside now for at least 6 months in a dry warm room and see if any movement occurs....go shopping for some nice wood in the meantime ....if you are gonna use ash look for that real light piece in the stack for the body an you might even find some cut on the 1/4 for ur neck
that one is gonna be a heavy guitar

AwDeOh
3rd June 2007, 08:41 PM
I was gonna say mahogany, but I'm no expert. The raw pieces have a pink tone like mahogany, similar to the stuff in my garage, and it hasn't got any real figure, but old_picker will be much more of an authority than me, and I doubt Bunnings is selling mahogany as unspecified "hardwood".