PDA

View Full Version : New turner!

ptygmit
6th June 2007, 12:13 AM
Hi all,

Being a complete novice, who has become pretty addicted to turning after an impulse buy in Mitre10... a GMC jobbie, i have a few quick questions i am hoping someone can help with.

After alot of fun, but unfortunatly, alot of problems with the GMC... i went out and bought an MC-900, and am amazed at the difference in the two. Just wish i had researched it properly and gone with the MC from the off... oh well... which brings me to the first question. Where do i lubricate the MC? I have taken the cowl off to have a peek, and am not sure if I lube the whole assembly, or if i have to avoid the belts? Was going to use Inox as its been mentioned a few times here.

Second question, is about the GMC. I have read a few times that people have converted it into a sander, and was hoping to do the same. Not wishing to sounds daft, but how do you go about it? I was thinking about building a timber work table and frame to mount the beastie into, but am not sure how the sanding wheel/disc would attach, or even if you can buy the sanding wheels to begin with? Anyone got any pics?

Cheers for the forum... so much info here!!

Pete

Frank&Earnest
6th June 2007, 01:03 AM