PDA

View Full Version : Jet Mini gets a Longworth

chrisb691
11th June 2007, 06:36 PM
I finally got a Longworth chuck made, for the Jet Mini. Attempt 1 failed due to inaccurate markout, and a crappy El Cheapo 1/4 router bit. I bought a 1/4 CMT spiral upcut bit, and got the markup right. I've never used a GOOD bit before, and now I know the difference one will make. To say it's chalk and cheese, is a total understatement.

Anyway, mk2 was duly finished and mounted on the Jet. Wearing a full face mask (some of the pics on the forum have got me rattled), and standing well out of line, I switched on. Bloody perfect.......for 30 seconds.

Pic 1 demonstrates why Corian was not a good choice of material to use. It must have had a hairline crack (I guess), and exploded with a hell of a bang. Definitely needed a change of knickers.

Pic 2 mk3. Finally got it right!!! and learnt a few more things along the way. A very happy chappy.

Pic 3 Used 'Rubber pin buffers' from Bunnings, with 6 X 50 brass connector bolts. I think Skew Chidamn posted about using the connector bolts, and the combination of these, with the pin buffers, works very well. Made a slight change to the design, in that I've got the front plate located by a 32mm tenon. which gives it very smooth action. The faceplate is also located by a spigot, so that I can remove it to use elsewhere, and get it back to the exact centre again.

WOODbTURNER
11th June 2007, 07:07 PM
Hello Chris
Great looking set of jaws.
I was just about to make a set also using an old Corian bench top about 400mm dia. but you might have changed my mind. Hate to think of the damage shattered hard Corian would do.
Chris, any chance of a few pics showing how you set up your 32mm tenon and f/plate spigot? Would come in handy when I make mine. Ta
I will be utilising my existing stoppers off my Vicmarc bowl jaws.
Jeff

chrisb691
11th June 2007, 08:36 PM
HI WT,