PDA

View Full Version : Buying blanks

ptygmit
19th June 2007, 12:54 AM
Out of a desire to try turning somthing other then pine or redgum, which are the only two easily available timbers round my way, i decided to see if i could buy a few blanks online. Im going to the Adelaide wood show in July, but frankly, im an impatient type and want to get my grubby paws on somthing in the meantime!! :)

Ive done a bit of research and there doesnt appear much online, that is easy to find anyhow. Does anyone know of anywhere that sells reasonably priced blanks? Im still pretty new to turning so i don't need amazing burls, just somthing new...

I found this site from the UK (http://www.stilesandbates.co.uk/shop/show_subs.cfm?CID=45&thiscat=Woodturning%20Bowl%20and%20Spindle%20Blanks), and am pretty much blown away by how cheap they are. I think its about 2 bucks to a pound. Wheres the aussie equivilent to this company?? :D

What do you guys do to quench your thirst for different timbers? (aside those lucky enough to have mates with property!)

reeves
19th June 2007, 05:50 AM
PT, there are several threads dealing with this topic and several sites in australia where you can order blanks from. Some will be a little expensive, some will be green blanks. A lot is figured or burl so if you want plain wood blanks its often better to grab a chainsaw and find some local logs.

The links have been posted many times but do a google for woodturning blanks on the OZ google site.

try

http://www.thewoodsmith.com.au/thewoodsmith/
http://www.djarilmari.com/
http://www.woodcentre.com.au/
http://www.tasmaniantimbers.com.au/in-stock.html
http://www.tasmanianspecialtimbers.com.au/
http://www.aussieburls.com/turnblanks.htm
http://stores.ebay.com.au/TURNED-ON-WOOD_W0QQcolZ4QQdirZ1QQfsubZQ2d33QQftidZ2QQtZkm