PDA

View Full Version : Folding bandsaw blades

Daniel
22nd August 2003, 02:23 PM
As an apprentice I was required to fold bandsaw blades or that is the ones that didn't break, but now I cannot remember how it is done.

I searched the group for this subject but could not find anything.

While searching the web I found this video on the subject, the address is below. Hope it is of interest.

I will try and fold the blade the video way.

http://www.taunton.com/finewoodworking/pages/wvt055.asp

Daniel

Dan
22nd August 2003, 11:02 PM
Its the unfolding bit that makes me nervous :(

fxst
22nd August 2003, 11:34 PM
nope no worries there
Just throw it onto the shed (oops.... workshop) floor and it uncoils itself
Peter

Daniel
23rd August 2003, 10:32 AM
I new there was a throwing part to the whole process but I thought it was to fold the blade. Thats where I went wrong.

The video folding way works.

Daniel

NOLID
4th February 2004, 11:24 AM
:) Hi PPL.from a pom in U.K. I have a small saw classed as a hobby,well I wasnt happy with the blade ,had two bigger ones madeup,now it cuts like a giant, the sise is only1085mm.,and was a mere5 16ths wide,I had 1/4"and1/2"made boy it's now a cracker,so dont slag your saw buy better blades,as to the unfolding,cut tape and sling it and run like hell, NOLID:rolleyes:

Wood Borer
4th February 2004, 05:04 PM
Daniel,

I work at the Mitcham end of Nunawading. If you bring down a bandsaw blade to my office I will show you two ways of folding them.

There might even be a cuppa for you also.

- Wood Borer

asis
8th June 2005, 06:42 PM