PDA

View Full Version : Floor Model Drill Press

mat
25th August 2003, 03:04 PM
I am currently looking to buy a floor drill press. Although they are fairly basic pieces of machinery is there anything I should be particularly looking out for. Are there any lemons out there?

Chippy Chappy
26th August 2003, 12:51 PM
Mat,

I guess it's the old adage you get what you pay for.
I am currently using a Sherwood 12 speed floor mounted drill press and for what I am using it for it is more than adequate.
The safety features are good and to change speeds it is a breeze
I am a Shipwright by trade and this type of machine is more than adequate for home use. If however I was going to do heavy engineering processes I would go for it's bigger brother as it is to light for that purpose.
I purchased mine from Timbecon here in WA. www.Timbecon.com.au Price was approx $249 on special.
Hope this helps

Steve:cool:

Ruffy
11th September 2003, 07:03 PM
Hi Mat,

I am going through the same exercise myself - looking for a floor stand drill press.

As an enthuisastic woodie in no way looking at anything more than doing it for pleasure. I have been given the same advice by both Fishers and Carba-tec staff and that is to look at the Radial Arm Drill Press.

The Carba-tech one recommended was for $399 (RDP-116). Fishers nearest in price was way down on features ec. The other one I am considering is from Timbecon at $379 (ZQJ-3116-A) at it has 550W motor compared to the Carba-tecs at 370W. Both are 5 speed.

Anybody else care to add their comments....

Ruffy

Dean
11th September 2003, 07:29 PM
If your getting a radial arm and set on that fact, then get the one that has the biggest motor. 1/2HP is just not enough to run the larger bits and to get them to cut well. It will bog down.