PDA

View Full Version : Using an electric planer on the lathe?

Hardenfast
5th July 2007, 08:49 PM
I'm quite new to lathe work, having knocked out 3 or 4 bowls over the last 5 or 6 weeks. Consequently I'm still trying out new techniques, checking in here frequently for advice and especially looking for ways to expedite the "rough rounding" process.

I recently picked up a few pieces of what I call Bull Oak from a property at Goulburn. The tree had blown over some 2 years ago, but had hung up on another tree and had never hit the ground. Anyway, It didn't have much usable timber on it as there were multiple limbs branching off only about 1.5 metres from the ground. Still, I took a chain saw to it and lopped off some sections of trunk and fork. Man, it was HARD.

When I got it home I de-barked a section and mounted it on the lathe after some rough shaping on the band saw, but it was still horribly out of round. I grabbed the electric planer and buzzed some more off the corners while still on the lathe - turning it by hand and using the tool rest as a sighting guide. I got it to a shape that would spin at slow speed without shaking the rig to pieces, and tentatively applied the bowl gouge to the outside of the piece.

Did I say this stuff was HARD? After about 3-4 minutes of buttock clenching "thock-thock-thock" on the high spots I stopped the machine to have a look at my progress as the gouge was already blunt. Very little to show for my few anxious minutes at Defcon 5, I'm afraid. There has to be a better way....

And this is the reason for this thread: The electric planer was still laying there on the bench.... the piece was giving me grief...... Boston Legal would be on soon..... did I mention how hard this stuff was?.... So, I started the machine up again, set the blade depth on the planer to low, placed the bottom of the planer base against the tool rest which I had lowered somewhat, and cautiously applied the spinning planer blades to the spinning Oak.