PDA

View Full Version : Stone isn't flat - is it okay to sharpen?

jisk
14th July 2007, 10:06 PM
I swung by a garage sale today, and one of the things I picked up was a sharpening stone. I think it's an oilstone, as it's black and kind of oily (I'm still learning this stuff!). One side also has a more fine grit than the other.

Now, I need to sharpen my planes for the first time (I just got them a few days ago). I've got heaps of info on how to sharpen them, so I'll be OK there. My stone does have a groove in both sides, though. Will it be okay to sharpen my plane blades, or do I have to do something about this first? I don't want to trash the blades.

Photos attached... help is very appreciated

routermaniac
14th July 2007, 10:33 PM
Its best to flatten it first. Use some coarse wet and dry on a glass plate or fixed onto thick mdf or melamine.

BTW I maybe wrong but the stone looks like one of those chinese cheapie oil stones, I doubt you will get good results from that. I used to use them when I started and the results were disappointing.

regards

Marios

RobTro
15th July 2007, 02:19 AM
I'm no pro and I use water stones but I think you should flatten the stone before using it on your new blades. Use glass (or granite) and some wet and dry sandpaper. Maybe with a bit of oil (if they are oil stones) to help or maybe someone else will give some advice. If they are really out of wack you could use a masonry block to get them close and then use the sand paper.

When I reconditioned my old water stones which were pretty dished I used a masonry block and lots of water and then I finished off with a diamond stone/plate to get them really flat. Now I just give a swipe over every now and again with the diamond stone to keep them as flat as I can.