PDA

View Full Version : CNC Router for the Disabled

crocky
17th July 2007, 10:46 AM
Hi Everyone,

I am a disabled woodworker who became disabled about 5 and a half years ago after I had a rather large stroke and almost died. I somehow managed to survive and now I have a right hand side that is prettywell useless, no arm movement to speak of and with a splint on the right leg so that I can walk. I used to have an electric wheelchair but I don't need that now. I have got a modified Astra automatic that has the acellerator on the other side of the brake pedal and a spinner knob on the steering wheel (and that's all it has) so it can be used with just the left foot :) and I was right handed before the stroke too. I was the director of a Computer company before I had the stroke so I now write almost everything with a keyboard :)

Woodworking? Well yes!! I am part way through the construction of a CNC Router table http://www.cnczone.com/forums/showthread.php?t=35996 and I have picked a few brains along the way and I have had some valuable help from Greolt (pretty sure he is a user here too) who has been doing some machining and fitting some parts together for me. I did intend to buy a lot of the parts but Greolt has done most of it for me! A BIG thank you Greolt!

I have a project in mind for the CNC and that is the reason for putting it together and that a router should be used with two hands really meant I had to design and build a CNC router table. I can't tell you what the project is just yet but lets just say I am an Artist and I will make good use of it :)

wheelinround
17th July 2007, 11:33 AM
Looks impressive

I am going to make a rotor table for myself but nothing as elaborate couldn't afford what you have made for starters looking at your other forum site.

Hope you have fun with it :2tsup:

crocky
17th July 2007, 11:44 AM
Hi,

I'm sure I will :2tsup: