PDA

View Full Version : How to clamp onto a drill press?

contrebasse
23rd July 2007, 10:14 AM
I'm relatively new to drill presses.

I need to find a secure way to clamp wood pieces to the circular bed of my pedestal drill press. I've been using a variety of F and G clamps but the ridges under the cast iron bed always seem to get in the way.

What's the trick? Has anyone found a good jig or solution to this?

Waldo
23rd July 2007, 10:31 AM
G'day Contrebasse,

Where I want to clamp the stock to the d/press I put the stock in one of these and then clamp the vice to the bed of the d/press with a F-clamp - just a case of moving the clamp out of the way of the ribbing of the bed. :shrug:

Otherwise I just have a sacrifical piece of timber underneath what I'm drilling and hold it in position by hand.

wheelinround
23rd July 2007, 10:57 AM
I have the same problem at time especially when the work wont fit into a vice

I use a flat piece of scar timber (pine) which spreads across the under side and allows clamps to be reasonably even
or you can make one to suit which has the ribbing routered into it

bitingmidge
23rd July 2007, 10:57 AM
The vice is indespensable.

The best thing is to build a timber (MDF) base, with a couple of T tracks in it, then you can use hold downs and a fence and adjust them at will.

Mine's a bit over the top, because I built the dust extractor (for future connection :rolleyes: ) box under it, the vertical bit is for end drilling and pivots round to under the quill as required. (I've used it once.)

Pics here http://woodworkforums.com/showpost.php?p=156551&postcount=1

You'll also see what I used to use, a square of ply screwed through a couple of cleats. When I wanted to secure something, I'd just screw it down with a couple of gyprock screws. I used to secure the vice like that too!

Cheers,

P
:D

silentC
23rd July 2007, 11:01 AM