PDA

View Full Version : Chimneys

Blue Wren
14th September 2003, 06:05 PM
Hi I am very new to this. We have a beautiful 100 year old house in need of lots of TLC. The house was moved 30 years ago and the chimneys demolished. We have a cavity where we had 2 back to back fireplaces. We have at the moment 1 fire (completely out of sympathy with the house) on one side. We want to get a fire box for each side that has 2 flues that go into a common flue so only one flue comes out the roof. When we ask the so called "experts" they just want to sell us their fire and tell us it has to have its own flue. If the darn chimney could accommodate 2 fireplaces, I can't see why "modern technology" can't copy. Can't get a chimney maker in this area, have already tried. Not sure if this is a question for this forum but seeing downlights were here, decided to give it a go. Don't care if we need to go interstate to get what we want. Seems to me, only need a boilermaker or whatever with a bit of nouse. Can anyone help with contacts where we might start?

q9
14th September 2003, 07:11 PM
I am guessing you are talking about having 2 slow combustion fireplaces? If that is so then they do need their own flue, as the flue is tuned to create the correct draw for the fire while retaining heat.

Marc
14th September 2003, 11:53 PM
I agree.
If what you had before was two open fires, you must realise that the chimney for open fires works different from a flue for a modern slow combustion.
Open fires or any of the old type fireplaces, relay on a big volume of hot air/smoke going up the chimney and drawing fresh air from the room, enough to avoid smoke going back in the house, (with mixed success usually). No seals, hope for no wind and no guarantees.
Modern slow combustion have sealed doors and very small and controlled orifice for air to come in the fire. In order for it to work, the flue must be of a certain diameter typically 6 inches, metal and a minimum of 4 to 5 meters.