PDA

View Full Version : recommendations needed

fraggles
21st August 2007, 01:06 PM
Hi,
I'm a student at Monash Uni in Caulfield and as part of my course I have to construct a prototype of a stool which I have designed...
One of the main components of the stool is a central log which I have obtained from my parents property in Alburly Wodonga.
I'm unsure to the type of timber as it is very old and bleached. At this stage I only have the dimensions which are -
Hight = 690mm
Diameter = 315mm

The dimensions I require for the timber element is
Hight = 437mm
Diameter = 300mm

Could anyone recommend somewhere in Melbourne or the Albury Wododnga area where I could get this log turned down to that size?
And an approximate cost that I should expect get this done.

Any help would be great!
Thanks!:)

Studley 2436
21st August 2007, 01:39 PM
Reckon one of the woodies here might help you if you ask nicely. 300 diameter isn't so big some one will have a lathe to do that. Myself I would knock it roughly to size in a bandsaw first, but there are others who know more about all that stuff than me.

Studley

BANNED
21st August 2007, 03:02 PM
Hi fraggles,

I would do it for you, no problems, at no cost. The problem is I'm in SA, Melbourne has lots of turners, with many of them being members of this forum, so you should get a better offer than mine, from one of the Melbourne guys, for sure.
In the mean time, would be handy to know what timber you got there, even for your own sake, as I'm pretty sure, the timbers species name will come in question trough your project, sooner or later! Try to ask the question to your parents, or to someone that work/worked in that property.

Good luck:2tsup:

Cheers
GV

RETIRED
21st August 2007, 03:05 PM
I can do it for you if you like.

fraggles
21st August 2007, 03:36 PM
I'm looking to pick up the log this weekend so should be able to get a better idea on what sort of timber it is.

Thanks for the offer Nyodine and !