PDA

View Full Version : New or Second Hand Notebook !

351shaker
8th September 2007, 12:32 PM
Hi All back again,
Don't know a thing about notebooks but am seriously thinking of change over from desktop ( main reason so I can cancel main phone hookup and revert to next G mobile use when sorted out ). Old story, for least amount of $ possible (new or second-hand)!
These are approximate only & basically require : Intel Pent. 4, 100-200gb H.D., NO DELL BRAND, Broadband hookup, CDRW burner, 1gb ram, XP Home (have the original OS on disc).
Any help or advice would be much appreciated,
Regards,
351shaker.:? :? :?

Barry_White
8th September 2007, 01:30 PM
Hi Shaker

I have been using notebook for the last 4 years. To make it easier to use because I hate the notebook keyboard I have plugged a standard keyboard into it and I use a Logitech wireless mouse.

joe greiner
8th September 2007, 01:35 PM
When considering the cost of second hand, I'd suggest adding the cost of a new battery, which it probably needs or soon will. Unless you expect to use it always connected through the charger, i.e. not really a notebook.

Joe

Barry_White
8th September 2007, 03:16 PM
Shaker

I didn't really answer the question new or second hand. With this I am probably with Joe. My brother gave me his old notebook which was three years old and the battery was clagged but like Joe say if you are only going to use it like a desktop it wouldn't matter but as you are talking about wireless Broadband you probably will want to move around with it.

I think the price of new notebooks now is so low I would be thinking new.

You should make a trip to Tamworth, plenty to choose from and probably a lot more competative.

wheelinround
8th September 2007, 04:41 PM
Shaker