PDA

View Full Version : Online Mentoring

cathniv
1st October 2001, 11:32 AM
I am currently working on a business plan for a new business which will consist of renovation of second hand furniture and homewares (no antiques)
As i am new to this field i am looking for someone in a similar business interested in mentoring me online.
Basically just someone i can ask about trivial or day to day things.I am hoping to get some accurate information off people in the field to help prepare my plan and have a better understanding of the costs,market etc.I am in Australia NSW.

Shane Watson
1st October 2001, 12:13 PM
Goodluck, there ain't much money to be made in it. Especially for us professionals who train for years and then get under qouted by backyard hacks who have no idea.

cathniv
2nd October 2001, 11:39 AM
Shane thanx for the good luck wish but there is money to be made if done properly and well planned.I am not into strictly restoring more so redecorating old furniture not antiques and it will be done on a larger scale with the correct systems in place for maximum efficency.

Shane Watson
2nd October 2001, 01:10 PM
Not matter how you approach this industry, the cost of running a legimate operation make it next to impossible to compete with unskilled shonky homebased business's. They have no overheads. The don't charge GST. There work is mostly cash based therfor tax free. Etc etc. & as you state that you want to do this on a larger scale & done properly I assume you don't fit into this catagory.

I agree though, there is money to be made, not much, but some. But your skills both in the workshop & in the office need to be sharp & high quality or you will not develop a good reputation which is a neccisity for a business to last. For a business to survive you need to look long term, not just short term & the only way for that to happen is to provide a survice better than your opposition & at a very comparable rate & yes that means competing with backyarders!