PDA

View Full Version : trying to understand all the technical info

Clinton1
23rd September 2007, 04:52 PM
Hey all.

I'm trying to work out if I should buy a Canon 400D or upgrade to a higher cost camera (in the Canon range).
Can't understand the technical specifications... I'm just a dumb photographer, manage a good shot here and there and gain a great deal of enjoyment from it.
I'd like to take a better photo, and I've outgrown my Canon A540 Powershot ($170) point and shoot digicam, which is not real difficult to do. Some of my photos are here (http://www.flickr.com/photos/clinton_findlay/)if you want to see what I try to do.

I'd like a camera that will take me though the next few 'technical growth" phases without me outgrowing it... something that gives me complete control over the photo's 'focus, exposure, arpeture and light settings' and allows me to develop as a photographer without any worries that I will outgrow the camera over the next 4 or 5 years.

I like the fact that the computer in the Canon 400 is the same as in the entire Canon digital SLR range... all the way up to the highest cost.

So, if anyone can offer a little assistance in working out if the higher cost camera's (40D, 30D, 1D) would be better for me.... please do, 'cause its doing my head in!

Harry72
23rd September 2007, 06:15 PM
Im happy with my 400D, the pro-range canons will give you a better picture if you know what your doing(hell I dont), otherwise buy the 400 and spend the difference on a good lense or 2... the body is just a basis for them!
Nikon are very good too.

woodbe
23rd September 2007, 06:35 PM
Hi Clinton,

You have some fine shots in your gallery, I think you will enjoy moving up to a DSLR.

Don't get too bent out of shape about which body to buy. Anything you get will be a big step up from the digicam in every way apart from size and price. Canon have basically 2 ranges of DSLR's

The 'Prosumer' range: 400D, 40D, 5D

The Pro Range: 1D MkIII, 1Ds MkIII