PDA

View Full Version : Intro

petersemple
25th September 2007, 12:53 PM
Ern suggested that I should warn you all that I'm here (er, introduce myself, that's what I meant). So, here I am. I have been turning for a few years now. It all started with a pen. I have a set of pens that were turned for me by my wife's friend's father. I broke the nib and needed a new one. He had died though so I couldn't just go to him for bits. I started to look on the net, and not only found pen kits, but also instructions on how to make them. Decided I could give that a go, and the rest is history. I am also interested in making guitars, and am nearly finished my first one. I had always said I would like to make my wife a nice wooden flute sometime too, because she plays. I noticed that the techniques for making pens are a very basic form of what is required to make a flute, so I figured that could be a good place to start. I have a CarbaTac MC900 Lathe. At the time it was the best I could afford - and it's not too bad a lathe I think, especially for the price. I turn mostly pens. I think I've made about 100 or so. I have a few bowls rough turned waiting to dry out and be completed. One day I will also look at flutes. I have made one kadeidoscope too - that was fun. Anyway, nice to meet you all.

Peter

Gil Jones
25th September 2007, 02:17 PM
Welcome aboard, Peter. Woodturning is rather habit forming, but very enjoyable. I am interested in making Native American flutes, maybe one day I will figure out the baffle system inside them. My Brother repairs and builds fiddles and violins (as a sideline), and has just started his new web site called Sugar River Violin [ http://www.sugarriverviolin.com/index.htm ]. You two may find a common interest in stringed instruments...drop Bill a line.
Do you have any pics of your work?

OGYT
25th September 2007, 02:24 PM
Welcome to a fine turning world, Peter. You need to get checked out, 'cause it sounds like your addicted for sure.