PDA

View Full Version : Beginner at woodturning

realtor-1
26th September 2007, 05:24 AM
I want to try my hand at wood turning, but have never tried it before. I'm thinking of buying a Jet 1236 lathe. Besides turning gouges and tools, what else should I buy at the time that I buy the lathe? Do I need to buy a chuck and other attachments? I would appreciate any help that you can give me. Honestly, I am a beginner at woodturning.

reeves
26th September 2007, 07:37 AM
HI welcome to the forums, yes u need at least 2 chucks some different jaws, a decent grinder, chisel holder of some kind and white/pink wheel for HSS tools. IF ya wanna drill holes in work u need a 2MT drill chuck and maybe a few other bits and peices, theres quite a few other threads on this topic so do a search..

cheeeeeeers
john

RETIRED
26th September 2007, 09:02 AM
First thing I would do is join a Woodturning Club to see if you like it. Some of our American forumites may be able to steer you to one.

Gra
26th September 2007, 09:15 AM
First thing I would do is join a Woodturning Club to see if you like it. Some of our American forumites may be able to steer you to one.

, has hit the nail on the head there, join a local woodworking club, they should have lathes there you can borrow/use. That way you can get a feel for the process and see if you enjoy it. If you enjoy it go spend the money. If you don't it will mean you are not stuck with an expensive piece of equipment you have to then offload at a loss. the added bonus of joining a club will also be that the club will have contact that will let you find out about better quality second hand lathes going cheap :2tsup:

Good luck and welcome to the addiction, remember buying the lathe is only the start of the expenses:U

Rookie
26th September 2007, 09:32 AM
...... remember buying the lathe is only the start of the expenses:U