PDA

View Full Version : Seeking MASSIVE pieces of timber for sculpture- DESPERATE

wonton
28th September 2007, 09:17 PM
Hi everyone.

I'm a Uni student down here in Melbourne and i am desperately seeking some massive logs for a chainsaw sculpture of a Silver Perch (Native Fish). The sculpture is approximately 2.8m long with a mild curve to suit the shape of the fish.

I NEED pieces of wood (logs, offcuts, trees) with a MINIMUM diameter/width of 600mm. The longer the section of wood the better.

This is incredibly important and i would be very appreciative of anyone willing to lend a hand. Transportation will be arranged by me.

Thanks,
Leon.

echnidna
28th September 2007, 09:47 PM
how many do you want?

BobL
29th September 2007, 12:25 AM
The sculpture is approximately 2.8m long with a mild curve to suit the shape of the fish.
If the sculpture "is" already then why do you need the materials? :D:D

I NEED pieces of wood (logs, offcuts, trees) with a MINIMUM diameter/width of 600mm. The longer the section of wood the better.
Do you have any idea what a piece of wood 2.8 m long x 600 mm diameter is going to weigh?

This is incredibly important and i would be very appreciative of anyone willing to lend a hand. Transportation will be arranged by me.

Why is it important? Is it an assignment or project of some kind?

wonton
29th September 2007, 11:23 AM
Considering the length of the PROPOSED sculpture, i was planning on carving it in sections and then assembling it on site. It doesnt matter how long the sections are, but the diameter of 600mm is imperative.

And BobL- This is for a 2nd year Industrial Design project- and for some reason time has a habit of going very quickly- so you can understand the urgency

Frank&Earnest
29th September 2007, 12:41 PM