PDA

View Full Version : Critique pictures. Read 1st post

Pages : [1] 2 3 4

RETIRED
29th September 2007, 04:55 PM
This only applies to Woodturning pics.

BE WARNED !!!. Pictures posted in here are put here for CONSTRUCTIVE CRITICISM.

They must be the works of the person posting.

If you can't handle the heat stay out of the kitchen.

Any DEROGATORY or FRIVOLOUS post will be EDITED OR DELETED as may be the case.

echnidna
29th September 2007, 04:57 PM
do the same in all the woodworking sections , they all need it.

Pat
29th September 2007, 06:11 PM
Ok I'll face the masses of more learned/skilled/opinionated turners. This is my first attempt at a bowl on the lathe. Please note at the time I only had a faceplate, thus the blocky appearance. It is a Coolibah Burl bowl, now resident in the Stepsons cave:U

I intend to do more bowls as I picked up a chuck from Lumber Bunker a few weeks ago, but ran out of raw material:)

So please be brutally honest, I know there are tool marks, catches & sanding marks. Talking about sanding it's sanded to 1000, then Triple E and St#tHot wax.

reeves
29th September 2007, 07:20 PM
Ok cool thanks , everyone please feel free to shoot away on this one, i can take it, bring me down boys, i deserve it...!! whip me beat me call my turning trash...hahahha...:?

oops back the box.

Its a 3 piece lidded and curved jap style box in banksia with banksia pod lid insert and knob, the finsih is organiol, white shellac, EEE wax and shellawax polish...in that order

..just to get in a coupla of quick criticisms meself...:cool:

-the top was not grain aligned when i took the pics but it does align, kind of
-the banksia pod bit is too bulbous, if it were flatter the knob wood standout more and the box wood look cooler
-the finish needs to be more even, its bit patchy but i find banksia a bit bitchy to finish,,,
-a small darker wood insert at the join might look stronger better...

ok go for it guys,,,do yr worst!!!!! be harsh...:2tsup: