PDA

View Full Version : curved panel for chair back

SteveMcM
1st November 2007, 09:32 PM
Hi All,

My Dad gave us a set of QLD maple chairs as a wedding present. I am fixing them up. All the joints are dry and need to be re-glued.

One chair has a missing centre panel and I need to make a replacement (see pics). I think the panel was steam bent. How hard is this to do really? If I have never done this before, how likely am I to get good results?

I thin kthe key questions are

How do i find wood to match? There is some light figure on other examples in the set. What I should be looking for in terms of how the wood might be sawn?

Should I cut the pattern while the wood is flat and then bend it, or vice versa? When the pattern is cut, the remainder is not very wide and I am worried it might break rather than deform.

Has anyone got experience with this type of work?

Thanks

Steve

weisyboy
1st November 2007, 09:46 PM
how mutch of a bend is there?

how about a side view?

it isnt that hard to bend without steam.

Lignum
2nd November 2007, 01:44 AM
Steve, forget the steam bending. With only one splat to do it wouldnt be worth your while. Unless you have experience in steam bending and have a basic understanding of spring back to get the exact final shape, you will end up to frustrated.

Those splats are usually cut from 50mm stock on a bandsaw. If you do that then you can smooth with a scraper and sandpaper and place the original over it to trace the outline to cut with a coping saw or powered fret saw.

Slicing 2mm veneers and makin a former to laminate can also be done, but again with only one to do, it would be a waste of time.

Also, can you post a pic of one of the chairs, as it looks interesting:)

SteveMcM
2nd November 2007, 03:55 PM
I should have explained the pictures. The second photo is one of the panels on its side. I guess the bend is relatively small.

how mutch of a bend is there?

how about a side view?

it isnt that hard to bend without steam.