PDA

View Full Version : Hercus fibreglass guard repair?

neksmerj
19th November 2007, 09:55 PM
Dear members,

This may not be the appropriate section to put this thread, but since it is for a lathe, it's here.

Continuing right along, the fibreglass belt guard on my 9" Hercus, was damaged whilst in cold storage.

I have never worked with fibreglass before, and if I had any brains, I should hand it over to the experts, however, it's doesn't seem a big job, and I'm independent. Basically, the side of the guard has been broken away, extending around to the front face.

I would like some advice on fixing the guard, can't wait to get itchy fingers.

Attached is a blury snap of the damaged area.

Regards,

Ken

pipeclay
20th November 2007, 05:09 AM
Theres a product called Peel and Patch available from Whitworths Marine&Leisure in Melbourne it may be suitable for your small repair.

wheelinround
20th November 2007, 06:41 AM
Looks like the other side has been repaired previously did you do that:rolleyes:

if you have an allergy to fibreglass DONT :no: otherwise wear gloves WEAR A MASK and eye wear

Bunnings have small repair kits easy to use make sure you get the hardener/cataylst also read instructions as to mixture of cataylst, ambient temperature is a big factor in mix going off to much catylst and it can ignite it can get that hot.

you'll need a short stippling brush an old paint brush will do

you will need to make a pattern to place over the area broken away and clean the area totaly free from oil etc

grind off the paint around the area to about 2 inches if you can get the grinder inside scuff it a bit so it has something to bond too

spread some resin over the area layer of glass then stipple more resin more layers of glass stipple till air bubbles are gone

Fossil
20th November 2007, 11:34 AM
I make fibreglass racing hulls for a hobby.
PM me if you need a hand Ken. I'ts not difficult, but a few tips along the way will help.

Fossil

neksmerj