PDA

View Full Version : I need a new Lathe

Sarge
3rd December 2007, 06:57 AM
My darling wife has agreed to buy me a new lathe for Christmas.

I have been using a GMC for the last two years turning pens, goblets, bowls and spindles... just about everything I guess.... quite an achievement on a GMC :)

I bought the GMC because it was very very cheap and I needed to know if I was going to enjoy wood turning. Now that I have decided to stick with it I need to purchase a real lathe.

I would like to buy one that will do me for a long long time, so if I spend the money now I wont have to worry about upgrading later.

Now the problem, if you can call it that, I have about $1800-$2000 to spend just on the lathe, I hope thats enough to get me a pretty decent one..... the question now is which one.

I'm hoping you guys can help me spend my money wisely.

Jim Carroll
3rd December 2007, 07:33 AM
The Nova 1624 falls into that price catagory and will do all you want.
Have a look here.
http://www.cws.au.com./cgi/index.cgi/shopfront/view_product_details?category_id=1107144884&product_id=1107423581

artme
3rd December 2007, 12:40 PM
Sarge, you might look for 2nd handstuff in the Trading Post etc.
Remember to check bearings etc on any 2nd hand machine before buying.
New: Nova (as Jim suggests), or perhaps a Jet.Both can be bought without the frame so you can have the pleasure of building a REALLY SOLID workbech to which you can anchor the lathe.
If you want Electronic variable bpeed (IMHO the only variable speed worth having) you will pay more for the advantage of not fiddling with belts.
You did VBw to last so long with a GMC. If you could turn on that you can turn on anything.:D:D

Jim: you remind of "The Newcastle Song" which has a line that goes
"Don't you ever let a chance go by old son, don't ever let a chance by":D:D:D

Calm
3rd December 2007, 02:54 PM