PDA

View Full Version : Arbortech carving

marbles1
15th November 2003, 06:39 AM
G'day to all you Woodies out there !
After a quick scan of the lists I can find little or no mention of Rotary carving . Someone must be using them !
I have been carving with an ARBORTECH for about 6-7 yrs now & find it gives me a freedom to produce from nearly any lump of wood ! From fence-posts , burls & slabs.
I would like to hear from like minded woodies with either problems or ideas to share & help each other.
Marbs:D

Garry1953
15th November 2003, 08:22 AM
Hi
Iv'e just started using the Mini Grinder........
Love it.....

Rowan
15th November 2003, 08:24 AM
Marbs, your a freak, who would want to use powered rotary carving when you can take 10 times as long doing it by hand but only work on softish woods!!!! Joking of course:D

I started using the arbotech about 18months ago and am hooked. However after finding some rather large stress cracks in my blade I have since swapped to the rotary chisel's. As I am a newbie I am still finding out all the traps and pitfalls and am having a ball spoiling nices pieces with poor finishing!!!! I work mainly with burls and am busy getting orgainsed for my first public apperance at a local market in a few weeks. Would love to exchange knowledge but I warn u it may be one way with u doing most of the giving.

Alex
16th November 2003, 01:15 AM
I use Arbortech mini - grinder for some time and so far had no troubles. At the begining I had some problemes finding good grinder that "talks" with "mini" atachment but problem was solved and as I said - no dramas. Little thing works prfectly. Attached some jarrah(fence post pieces) to the silky oak slab (just to make a bit of contrast between this two nice sort of timber) spent some time finishing and had a big discusion between first neighbour and cousin who's got more right to get finished bowl (irregulare shape)

marbles1
16th November 2003, 07:11 AM
G'day to all "Woodies "