PDA

View Full Version : Installing CD player in Sprinter

Rossluck
31st December 2007, 10:09 AM
We bought our son a CD player for his '95 Toyota Sprinter and decided to spend a few hours installing it. It turned into a nightmare. I spent all day on it and it still isn't finished.

I've installed a few of these before, and it has always been a simple process. Red, black, yellow and blue wires to run the player, and then the 8 speaker wires. But this Sprinter had the system from hell, with a total of 15 wires running into it. I used my multimetre to trace the connections but lost the plot somewhere.

Basically I have the CD system running, but we've lost the central locking and his theft alarm (both of which ran through the radio it seems).

Does anyone have any experience with the wiring in these cars?

boban
31st December 2007, 10:26 AM
I worked as a custom installer for a number of years and from my experience the Sprinter or Corolla is not a difficult vehicle at all to work on. Quite the opposite.

On the head unit:

The red wire is switched power.

The black is negative (ground it to be sure, as some of the wires in the harness show up as a negative until switched on, such as the interior lights.)

The yellow is permanent power, or power that never turns off.

The blue wire does not power the system. It should be a remote switch that will power up an amplifier or power antenna. Disconnect it if you don't have either.

All the above connections/wires can be found using a test light. Very easy to do.

The speaker wires are located by either tracing them from the originals (rarely if ever done) or using a AA battery. When you have located both wires the speakers will pop.
Just get all the phases right otherwise you will get little if any bass.

As to the alarm and central locking, you have probably disconnected a power source or blown a fuse. Reconnect everything as it was and start again.

Rossluck
31st December 2007, 11:41 AM