PDA

View Full Version : Route large radius arches

Domenicxx
1st January 2008, 10:25 PM
I have this problem...

I always need to create large radius arches..... they can range from say 900mm to 5000mm and anything inbetween.

I am new to doing this sort of work.... so any help would be graetly apppecaited.

if say you had some templates make up say at 500mm up to 4000mm @ 1000mm intervals how can you use these templates to create the radius you require. what would a jog look like?

e.g. if you had a a 2000mm radius template what would a jig look like that by using the 2000mm template with a jig to create say a 2300mm radius arch.

i hope this makes sense. it seem a waste of time always starting from stratch when i want to create a new arch say @ 4000mm when if i a template already at 3000mm why not use that...with some sort of jig..

damienhazo
1st January 2008, 11:44 PM
what would a jog look like?
it seem a waste of time always starting from stratch when i want to create a new arch say @ 4000mm when if i a template already at 3000mm why not use that...with some sort of jig..

Sydney? You sure about that? Seems strange to me that someone has been given the responsibility for such large arches but has no idea how to implement a large beam trammel...

bookend
2nd January 2008, 04:40 AM
I can't think of any way to attach a jig onto an existing semicircular template to alter the radius to make it do the work of a larger one.

I'd just create a new template with a trammel.

Maybe Damien could explain what he has in mind?

gobfish
2nd January 2008, 05:04 AM
make one out of wood 1200 long , then just ad a stick to it and you can go as big as you like.

have fun steve

munruben
2nd January 2008, 10:12 AM
:whs:Yep, sometimes the simple way is the best way.:)

joe greiner
4th January 2008, 11:42 PM
Some variations of this notion have been posted. For the present question, consider: