PDA

View Full Version : I like it to introduce myself

Ad de Crom
4th January 2008, 09:08 AM
Hi everyone,
Stumbled yesterday against this forum, by searching on the internet.
Looks to me very nice, so I signed in.
To introduce myself, my name is Ad de Crom, I'm from the Netherlands, and live in Bergen op Zoom.
I picked up woodturning in 2001, after my retirement. From my profession I was a mechanical engineer.
I like it to work with wood and metal. I used my experience for building my own lathe, and some devices, and some tools.
One of my favorite turnings is segmented work.
Anyway I hope to meet here a lot of woodturners.
Recently I turned a low profile segmented bowl made from Taxus, and like it to show it for the start.

wheelinround
4th January 2008, 09:14 AM
Welcome aboard Ad de Crom

great place to be and meet like minds

some here have strange minds others twisted (they like strange green and black powered tools)

Ray

ps nice bowl Taxus ounds and looks like nice wood to tunr with

Honorary Bloke
4th January 2008, 09:28 AM
Welcome to the forum!! Pop open a nice Oranjeboom and join in the fun.

Very nice bowl, BTW.

Hardenfast
4th January 2008, 09:52 AM
Welcome Ad.

You will find this place a great source of information and also inspiration. Although Australian based we have members from all over the world who regularly contribute so you will feel right at home.

I too am hooked on the segmented woodturning disciplines although I've only been doing it for a few months - I look forward to seeing a few more of your works, and also of your lathe and the other bits & pieces you've made.

I've put a link here to a segmented bowl thread I posted a few months back. I was quite pleased with the result, but don't seem to have had time to get into another one yet. Hopefully soon....

http://www.woodworkforums.ubeaut.com.au/showthread.php?p=550499#post550499

Prosit. (I hope that's Dutch for "Cheers")

Wayne

Manuka Jock
4th January 2008, 10:38 AM