PDA

View Full Version : Filling Cracks in Timber

Rustic
4th December 2003, 04:04 PM
As I've said before I am fairly new to turning but I recently had a turning split through shrinkage after about two weeks. I thought that the wood was dry enough not to be a problem. I put it back on the lathe and turned part of the cracked peice off and made a new separate base. Where the crack extended into the upper work it was quite deep. Now I come to what I set out to say.

To fill the deep crack I put PVC glue on to it and rubbed it down into the crack with a length of dental floss, I then rubbed in some wood dust and pushed that down with the floss, eventually the crack filled up solid and wouldn't push down any more. I cleaned it up, repolished it and to date (3 weeks) it hasn't moved.

Just thought I'd pass it on for any newies like myself.

Regards all
Sid

Cliff Rogers
4th December 2003, 07:09 PM
G'day.

What sort of timber was it & what was the turned article?

It's possible to do a similar job with Super Glue.
Most woodturning supply places stock a couple of different brands & some come in different grades thin, medium, & thick & now there is a super thin too.
The super thin is good for stabilising hairline cracks.
There is also an accelerator that you spray on to get it to set quicker so you can work on it sooner.

Rustic
5th December 2003, 08:45 PM
Originally posted by Rustic
As I've said before I am fairly new to turning but I recently had a turning split through shrinkage after about two weeks. I thought that the wood was dry enough not to be a problem. I put it back on the lathe and turned part of the cracked peice off and made a new separate base. Where the crack extended into the upper work it was quite deep. Now I come to what I set out to say.