PDA

View Full Version : Steb style centre in chuck

scooter
12th January 2008, 11:18 PM
Gday

Bought one of these doovahs (http://cws-store.yahoostore.com.au/cgi/index.cgi/shopfront/view_product_details?category_id=&product_id=1107369947) at CWS last week, the one I bought is a 2MT to fit my lathe spindle but also has a groove machined in it that I hoped would fit in my SN2 chuck (in the std 50mm jaws)

It does, & is handy not having to spin the chuck on & off to rough a blank or cut a chuck recess or something.

Hope this is of help to someone else.

Cheers................Sean

TTIT
12th January 2008, 11:44 PM
I've been using one of the suckers for a couple of years now Scooter but mainly because it's just convenient not to have to remove the chuck. If you work out a way to stop the wood slipping and cutting a groove in the end of the work, let me know PLEASE!!!!!!:~ I find that anything that even resembles a heavy cut will cause it to let go - damned frustrating. I've always been 'gonna' cut a similar groove in my standard drive centre ......... but just haven't got around to it :B.
On the same note, my mate just discovered his standard MC900 drive fits quite nicely in his new GPW bowl jaws. :shrug:

Richard Findley
13th January 2008, 03:44 AM
Hi Guys,

I stopped using my steb partly because of that "drilling" problem you mention and because I find the spring rather over powerful on the point. If you turn anything too thin or want to part work off, the power in the point will snap the wood before I'm ready. Can get quite frustrating.:~

I've recently started using a ring centre drive which is very much like a steb but has a solid ring instead of teeth and no spring, so a fixed point. I find it has all the advantages of a steb but without the draw backs!:U

They are also a damn site cheaper, in fact about half price:2tsup:!!

I have given mine a really good road test and found I can turn 5" diameter finials between centres with it no problem!!