PDA

View Full Version : Which Five Combination Machine?

gazallo2003
11th December 2003, 06:06 AM
Hello,

I'm looking for a combination machine and I'm considering these ones:

Hammer C3 31
Minimax CU300 Smart
Minimax LAB300
Rojek KPS300A

I'm a hobbyist and I will do small to medium projects. My budget is around 9000 $ USA.

I read a lot of stuff in woodworking forums and reviews but still I have some trouble to decide which one offers better price / quality.

Is there someone who owns any of these machines? Wich one performs better wood job?
What about Felder? Are their high-end machines worth $16000 ?

Any comments will be apreciated.

Thanks a lot.
JCarlos, from Spain

Zed
11th December 2003, 08:19 AM
The current issue of Australia Wood Review has a article about the Felder Combo. it retails here in Australia for $24,000.00 I dont know what that comes out to in Euro's no doubt being a european machine it would be cheaper.

Thier high end machines are definately worth the effort if you can afford it.

I understand the Italians make some good machinary too.

http://www.woodreview.com.au/

silentC
11th December 2003, 09:47 AM
I'm incredibly envious that a hobbyist has that kind of money to spend on machinery but I think this argument has been made before:

With US$9000, you could buy yourself seperate machines to perform each of those functions and have money left to buy a bandsaw, drill press, wood lathe, you name it.

Add to that the fact that if it breaks, your whole workshop is offline until you get it fixed. Also there's the time it will take to setup when swapping between functions.

Maybe you don't have the room for all those machines. With the change from the $9000, you could buy a good sized garden shed to put it all in and still have money left over for beer.

That's why I wouldn't buy one. Even if I had US$9000. Which I don't. :(

joez
11th December 2003, 11:28 AM