PDA

View Full Version : DVD Cabinet

bigAl
13th December 2003, 01:31 AM
This thing didn't appear quite this large on an A4 piece of paper...

The DVD Cabinet is made from South American Mahogany with Crotch Mahogany veneer sides. Drawer Fronts are highly figured solid Rosewood, all from one board. The cabinet holds 540 DVD's.

The Case is French Polished (my first attempt and all learned from Neals Handbook, bless 'im), the drawer fronts are oiled but will be polished properly over Christmas. I'm a little nervous about colour matching a grain filler for the rosewood, so putting it off until I'm out of excuses.

I'd be delighted with any feedback.

This is my first project after a four year hiatus and I've still got my fingers in the same place they started. You've gotta be happy with that, just like riding a bicycle :D

Al.

bigAl
13th December 2003, 01:34 AM
pic 2

bigAl
13th December 2003, 01:36 AM
pic3

Tankstand
13th December 2003, 06:54 AM
Al Mate, that is one very pretty piece of furniture!

well done.

I like the look of the completely mitred top corners , were they awkward to join? What method did you use?

Ben from Vic.
13th December 2003, 10:58 AM
In a word?

Beautiful.

Is that brass inlay on the top?

Love the crotch veneer on the side!

Ben.

vcohen
13th December 2003, 12:49 PM
Great piece of work Al,

Just love the timber choice, the end panels look just great!

On another thread you said you had 'L' plates on. I think you can take 'em off. This is a piece of work anyone would be proud of.

Cheers

bigAl
13th December 2003, 03:56 PM
vcohen, Ben and Tankstand, many thanks.

The top does have a brass inlay around the veneer. The panels were cut by hand and one edge had a chip in the veneer. The brass was the easiest fix.