PDA

View Full Version : live center with 1/2 inch thread rather than MT

dimma20
28th January 2008, 09:49 PM
Hi,

I have recently purchased a small lathe from an old clock maker/repairer. It is fairly basic (indeed primative is probably a more apt description). Anyway my problem is the tailstock has a threaded insert (1/2 inch or perhaps 13mm). When I obtained it there was only a dead center. I was wondering if anyone could assist with a solution to get a live center. I can't locate anything on the internet other than Mortice Taper type. Can anyone help. I am a novice in the woodturning stakes.

Thanks,

John.:rolleyes:

robyn2839
28th January 2008, 09:59 PM
hi john i think i understand what you mean,when you wind the tailstock there is just thread,so if you were to turn the end to accept a bearing then a cap to fit outside of bearing then a centre fitted to it, similar to some of those cheap lathes like gmc, if you look at one of those you will see what i mean, i will try to get a photo of one if you like . bob

dimma20
28th January 2008, 10:09 PM
Thanks Bob - a photo would be helpful. Regards, John.

joe greiner
29th January 2008, 12:16 AM
It sounds like the tailstock spindle is essentially a threaded stud with a pointed end; perhaps with a handwheel at the outboard end. Dead centers are common in older metal and wood lathes, especially clockworking lathes. I got quite a few introductory miles out of my 1929 Delta with its dead center. Lubrication is the key. Squirt some WD40 or such at the penetration point frequently, and re-tighten as needed. I reckon it would take a lot of machine work to adapt a live center. Might be better to establish your taste for the sport with what you have (allowing for its perceived shortcomings), and upgrade to a more sophisticated lathe when/if.

Joe

dimma20
29th January 2008, 07:57 AM