PDA

View Full Version : 10 years experience in carpentry

matty3uk
31st January 2008, 05:06 AM
Hello
I'm matthew and im a 31 year old English carpenter
I am in need of some help/Advice

I have 10 years experience on site 1st & 2nd fix carpenter but I don't have any qualifications.:doh:

Most of the jobs I have seen on the net are asking for qualifications ??.
I can get references from sites I have worked on and some photos will that be ok to help me get work in Australia as a carpenter.

I will be travelling all round Australia on a working/holiday visa.
What tools will I need to start off with as they would cost too much to get all my tools over

I am hoping I like it out there so much that I don't come home
Are there many companies that would sponsor someone like me.
I don't mind where I go to start off working in Australia

Hope to hear from you soon
Thank you
Matthew :U

journeyman Mick
31st January 2008, 03:02 PM
Matthew,
do you have "Recognition of Prior Learning" in the UK? Contact whichever govt department is in charge of vocational training and employment. If RPL is available then you should be able to get your trade qualifications via this route. If RPL is not available in the UK you could try getting it over here. Bring certified copies of all your references with you.

Tools brought over depends on what you think you'd be doing (ie formwork, framing, 1st/2nd fix) I'd be bringing at very least your nailbag plus hammer, chisels,chalkline, stringline, tape, square, circular saw, planer, drill and cordless drill plus bits. You'd be able to hang a door or put up some framing or set up some formwork. If you can get your trade papers via RPL before you go then you would have no problems getting permanent residency.

Mick

matty3uk
31st January 2008, 07:08 PM
Thanks Mick

I will have a look into all what you have said

Are the tools on site 110v or 230v in Australia
All my tools are site tools wich are 110v in the uk

irbrill
31st January 2008, 09:10 PM