PDA

View Full Version : Newbie questions.

Ch4iS
1st February 2008, 12:51 PM
I've been only ever dreaming of owning a cnc router till 1 night of searching I found you can actually buy kits you build yourself for a fraction of the price. Actually considered a 8 grand setup but it was small as.

Now I am wanting to build one of these but do not know where to start.

I have never done woodworking/metalworking before (I am 19 and the school I went to never had anything like this which I would have loved). But I do have the basic tools for cutting ect. and anything else I can borrow from my dad.

I have done small odd things but all amatuer.

I was just wanting to know where can I start for building a budget machine? As I did not want to put too much money into my first major project. I have been seeing the controller kits but I was wanting to know if their are any australian sellers and if anyone can recomend anyone as the sites I have seen look dodgy and I dont even know if they are still in business.

If anyone could point me in the right direction to get started with all the electronics that would be great.

Greolt
1st February 2008, 05:43 PM
Blue ray

Where are you located? Perhaps you may have an experienced builder nearby.

Take some time and do a lot of reading. CNCzone has an enormous amount of info but it takes a lot of trawling through the dross.

Don't be tempted to rush out and buy anything yet.

I think realistically you need to expect to spend at least $2000. Others may differ on this point. :)

Look around and try to spot the type of machine that you think is within your capabilities to build.

And as I said do lots of reading. Then you will be able to ask more concise questions.

Greg

Ch4iS
1st February 2008, 05:47 PM
Blue ray

Where are you located? Perhaps you may have an experienced builder nearby.

Take some time and do a lot of reading. CNCzone has an enormous amount of info but it takes a lot of trawling through the dross.