PDA

View Full Version : Thicknesser or jointer planer

Woodster
23rd December 2003, 08:04 AM
I am a relative newbie, and am setting up a workshop in a double garage. I am buying a H&F ST-10c saw bench and a 2hp d/c.

I am unsure which to purchase a 6" jointer and a H&F 121/2" thicknesser, or is it better off getting the T-260 planer- thicknesser.
And if the T-260 am i able to use it as a jointer.

Any advise would be appreciated, thank you:)

Dean
23rd December 2003, 09:14 AM
I don't own a PT-260 but I'm sure it is fine as a jointer.
Obviously, the PT-260 is better if you have space limitations, but separate machines save you the hassle of switching modes on a combo machine.

Woodster
23rd December 2003, 10:01 AM
Thanks for ur reply. Does it take much to change from planer to thicknesser, i would have thought it would be the same process basically.

Is it better to have a 12" thicknesser and a 6" jointer. or go with the H&F planer and thicknesser.

Eg: if u try to get a piece of timber to the same thickness at each end does the thicknesser do this or do i need a planer. I was told that a thicknesser would not make a piece of timber the same thickness all the way through.:confused:

Dean
23rd December 2003, 10:21 AM
not sure how long exactly to switch the PT-260. If Wayne is looking he might offer an answer as he has a PT-260.

A thicknesser should be able to reduce a board evenly.
But you need to have the opposite surface dead flat to run on the thicknesser table to get an even thickness. To do this you have to flatten that surface with the jointer.

Woodster
23rd December 2003, 11:04 AM
Thank again for ur reply:) :)

By the sounds of it it might be better to get the thcknesser and planer. One would assume (i know the obvious comeback lol)