PDA

View Full Version : Hypothetical problem ...

Incoming!
15th February 2008, 03:18 PM
... I have a friend ... complete novice and a complete idiot. Imagine if you can that my friend has just gone berserk with her newly acquired marquetry materials, cut them all out and has sticky taped them together from the back.

Are you supposed to be able to see gaps around all the individual pieces?:C

And if this were to happen, hypothetically speaking, will the gaps somehow magically disappear once the sanding part of the process has begun?

Or what should my friend do?

Any help you can provide that I can pass on to the moron would be gratefully accepted. <shakes head> I don't know why she brings me these problems!

Thanks

echnidna
15th February 2008, 04:36 PM
sounds like you should tell her to do a tafe course

Incoming!
15th February 2008, 05:42 PM
That bad, huh? Ok, I take it that there are NOT supposed to be visible gaps. Wasn't sure - the web instructions I've read just seem to jump from cutting out pieces to incredible finished works of art. Wasn't sure whether the sanding process left dust in the gaps to help finish it off.

Thanks.

chrisb691
15th February 2008, 05:52 PM
It's pretty normal to have gaps with hand cut marquetry. However, there are gaps....... and there are gaps. How they will show on the picture, depends on a few factors.

If you are glueing down to the backing board with PVA, then the individual pieces tend to swell, and reduce/close the gaps. In this case, having the pieces too closely cut can actually cause problems. When the pieces of veneer swell, it can cause the picture to 'bubble' off the backing board if they are too precisely cut.

If using contact, there will be no swelling, and the gaps will remain as when cut. In this case, you can always reduce the gap(s), by inserting sllthers of veneer (before glue down).