PDA

View Full Version : Lathe bench

silentC
30th December 2003, 03:26 PM
I need to make a bench for my lathe to sit on. At the moment, it's on an old workbench that is under 3 feet high and it's too low.

Is there a rule of thumb for how high the bench should be, based on your height etc. Or is this another one of those preference things? I'm an absolute beginner so if there's a default standard, that'd be helpful.

Also, any other things I should keep in mind? I was going to make it with a solid bench top and similar to a woodworking bench in construction, about 400mm wide and as long as I can make it (in case I get a bigger and better lathe one day - the one I have is 1400mm long, about 900mm between centres). I plan to fix it to the wall with the lathe close to the front edge. This will give me about 300mm clearance between the centres and the wall, which should be enough for anything I'm likely to do.

Any tips appreciated.

Barry_White
30th December 2003, 03:40 PM
Hi

The ideal height for the lathe is to have the tool rest about elbow height.

This is good as with your arms bent holding the turning tools this will give you the best leverage on the tools when turning.

Regards

Bazza

Sturdee
30th December 2003, 03:46 PM
Darren,

I believe the standard is that the centre of the timber you're turning should be at elbow height. Also make it as solid as you can and fix securely to the wall. If you are not putting in a DC as yet I would make the top of the bench with slatts to allow the chips to fall to the floor which should make clean up easier.

Peter.

Cliff Rogers
30th December 2003, 04:08 PM
G'day.

Aim to have the revolving centre somewhere between the tip of your elbow & a point halfway between your elbow & your sholder.
Generaly, some where in that range will be right for you.
Some like it higher & some like it lower.
If it's too low, you will find your self leaning over it.

I like it a bit on the high side so I have a better view of what I'm doing .