PDA

View Full Version : Plaster board

sidk
30th December 2003, 04:17 PM
Hi guys
I am new to this so I hope Iam doing this right.
I must say I have had a lot of good info in reading the various Q&A's over time.

My question is I have been putting up plaster board, haven't done very much before & this time it was very hot. I applied the paper tape in the first coat of jointing & after it dried. I have a number of paper irregularities,where it appears to have parted company from the board.

I went to the Boral site & finally found mention of this happening in very hot weather.
I could not find solution to the problem on the site.

Has anybody experienced this before & how do I correct it
Help
thanks Sidk

ozwinner
30th December 2003, 04:43 PM
Hi Sid
I have done a little plastering, not my fave' job.
Is the tape in the corner?
If so, I just cut the tape that has come away and apply more bog.
You have to give it a couple of coats of bog at least.
If its in the wall join, I always use bandage there, same thing.
Always apply a couple of coats of bog and feather it out to the edge, most times you can hide the muckups with a couple of coats.
I used to worry about plastering, but with a sanding block and more bog everything comes good in the end.

Cheers, Al the Bogger. :D

silentC
30th December 2003, 04:56 PM
Sidk,

Assuming that you're using perforated paper tape and a powdered form of jointing cement, it's likely by the sound of it that either the jointing cement was drying out too much before you applied it, or you weren't using enough.

With the paper tape, you usually put a bed of cement over the join, then bed the tape into it with a knife, then apply another coat of cement over that, making sure you fill the recess so it's flush with the surface of the sheet. I've had the tape lift when the cement was too dry and the paper didn't bond properly to the base coat.