PDA

View Full Version : Report on building a GIS in the Netherlands (2008-2011)

SOLing
19th February 2008, 12:46 AM
Hello WoodWorkers!
while building a GIS I will try to keep a kind of report on the progress, with some comments and maybe some pictures.

As I am not so very experienced (I build a Waarschip 600 SV in the seventies, well actually my father build most of it and I paid for it all..) and after that sailed only in GRP boats (eq a Soling) this thread will be more interesting for starters like me I think.

First some info: I live in a small village in the southern part of Netherlands and wanted to do something with my hands, for as a tax attorney I do very little with my hands. After a lot of thinking I decided to build a small sailboat, that would have to fit into the garage.

after making a long list of all the (excluding) requirements I came up with a few designs and decided for the GIS, because of the simplicity in building and design ( I think: you have reached perfection if nothing can be left out) as well as the beauty of the boat, the rig and the information on the site of Michael Storer.

I will build the GIS in the garage of our second house in the Eifel in Germany, so there will be some delays in the progress. Also work takes up a lot of spare time, so do my wife, daughter, some excersise (ice speed skating, MTB) in the continuing battle to keep in shape / my weight down. But the remaining time will be spent on building the GIS.

Right now I have started and ended the marking of all ply, jigsawing it and planing the side panels of the hull. Last weekend I started on the mast: one of the narrow staves of the hollow mast is planed to size, next week hopefully the other one.

I planned the following order:
* woodwork
- marking and cutting the ply parts;
- mast, boom, lug yard,
- rudder and centreboard;
- centreboard case;
- preparing the bulkheads, transom;
- hull,
and from there on the instruction book.
* epoxy and glassing
* painting