PDA

View Full Version : Table Saw Jig

Pablo
31st December 2003, 09:49 PM
As a complete beginner, I was stoked to successfully make anything!!

I got the ideas from a Time/Life video mr dear old Mum got me. I have to put the perspex guard above the cut line.

The difference in making cuts more precise is stunning.

The runners are made of pine and I'll replace them with some plastic at a later date. Did I read about some silicon or nylon that somebody else on this BB uses?

Any suggestions gratefully received.

Cheers

Paul.

Wayne Davy
31st December 2003, 10:27 PM
Nice Job Paul.

The best plastic for runners is "UHMW polyethylene" ie the same stuff most plastic breadboards are made of. Can be expensive to buy from the plastic retailers and the best source is, you guessed it, breadboards from the bargain stores. Whats so good about this plastic is that it is:
a) Self lubricating - ie. slides nicely all the time in mitre slots
b) Very, very long wearing
c) Easy to work with
For some ideas, try this: http://www.leevalley.com/wood/page.asp?page=32045&category=1,43455,43831&ccurrency=3&SID=

One last thing - I think you have raised the blade for the pic but, if not, always lower the blades so that the teeth are just above the thickness of the wood you are cutting. Safer and a better result.

Cheers,

Rocker
1st January 2004, 07:24 AM
I notice that there is a kerf in the block of wood on the near side of the sled, which is supposed to protect the user from the saw blade emerging at the end of the cut. This indicates that the sled does not have a stop to prevent it from travelling too far forward and thus allowing the saw blade to emerge.