PDA

View Full Version : Carba-Tec BS1400 versus SW1401

AlexE
3rd January 2004, 03:10 PM
The Carba-Tec BS1400 is $750 and the SW1401 is usually $499, now on special at $459, is the BS1400 worth the extra dollars, as they both appear to be the same size?:confused:
I'm a newbie who wants to purchase a bandsaw for violin making and after looking at numerous posts believe I should purchase a 14" size rather than a cheaper, smaller one.
Any advice will be welcomed.

Added - I forgot to mention in my post, I need one capable of cutting aluminium sheet up to 2mm thick, as well.

Alex

Sprog
3rd January 2004, 07:41 PM
The 14" is the way to go, blades last longer with less tendancy to break.

I personally would get the cheaper one, in fact I did :D it works well.

The dearer one has a rip fence, dust extraction port and micro adjustable blade guides.

You can make your own rip fence for very little cost, the dust port costs about $10 and I purchased a set of Cool Blocks for the blade guide which cost about $45.

You would also need a blade capable of cutting aluminium.

derekcohen
3rd January 2004, 09:51 PM
Alex

The BS1400 is phenomenal value for money. Really. Yes, it is the same size and power as many others on the market. But ... in the USA it is marketed under the Ridgid brand. A recent review of 14" bandsaws in one mag gave it Best Buy, tying with Jet and Delta in most areas but outclassing them in band tension. Its ability to achieve a seriously high band tension - in the same league as steel saws = means that its potential for accurate re-sawing is very high.

Based on this info I went and bought one about 9 months ago. It is well worth a serious look.

Regards from Perth

Derek

DavidW
3rd January 2004, 11:42 PM
I don't mean to add to your confusion nor am I speaking from experience but have you considered the BAS-350.

It is a 2 speed machine with a 200mm depth of cut and 100mm dust port. Also appears to come with roller guides as standard.