PDA

View Full Version : Is it curable?

Geebung
20th March 2008, 12:46 PM
I am fairly new to this woodworking thing but I think I now have a serious illness.

The other day while travelling to work on the bus I was staring out the window with my usual glazed look. We were stopped at the traffic lights when a ute towing a trailer broke my stare. It was full of old timber of various sizes (in pretty good condition) along with general rubble and debris.

After about 15 seconds staring at the trailer I realised that I was fantasising about it...how could I use the timber - perhaps a new workbench...how could I get my hands on the wood in that tralier - perhaps unhitch his trailer while he is sitting at the lights...and then I shook my head violently and slapped myself across the face.

Is anyone else afflicted with this debilitating illness?
Is this malady curable?
Should I seek medical advice?
Or should I just succumb to the fact that everytime I see a usable piece of discarded timber I will get the unstoppable urge to take it home with me?

HappyHammer
20th March 2008, 01:17 PM
Is anyone else afflicted with this debilitating illness? Yes almost everyone here...
Is this malady curable? No
Should I seek medical advice? Not unless your doctor is a woody and can empathise
Or should I just succumb to the fact that everytime I see a usable piece of discarded timber I will get the unstoppable urge to take it home with me? Afraid so.....

HH.

petersemple
20th March 2008, 01:40 PM
Along with this I am afraid that you will realise that everyone else in the world has a warped sense of priorities when you try and persuade your spouse that right next to the front door is really the best place for the wood pile because it's out of the way and under cover and that "but it's an eyesore" isn't a legitimate complaint.

Peter

The Bleeder
20th March 2008, 01:41 PM
Geebung,