PDA

View Full Version : Basic Beginner Tools

The Magician
18th January 2004, 08:02 AM
Hi all, I am just starting out in woodwork and diy and what i would like to know is can anyone tell me what kind of tools i need as i am only a beginner. Thanks

DarrylF
18th January 2004, 08:34 AM
Depends on what you're trying to achieve - and of course your budget. You'll need different (and far fewer) tools to put up a shelf or finish a raw pine bookshelf than you would if you wanted to build a dining table from scratch :)

The topic has of course been covered here many times - but with more information on your situation I'm sure we can help.

derekcohen
18th January 2004, 11:49 AM
Darryl's right, let us know what yout immediate goal is.

But the question made me think about the first tools I purchased some 20-odd years ago. The aim was to do a little DIY around the house - build bookshelves, general repairs, etc - nothing complicated.

I started with a power drill (with sander attachment), jigsaw, 1/3 sheet sander, and a set of chisels and screwdrivers. The power tools were B+D, and the remainder Stanley. All cheap as chips. They did the job for DIY. The rest is history.

Regards from Perth

Derek

Chris Parker
19th January 2004, 07:56 AM
Here is my attempt at detailing a toolchest for a DIY/ homeowner. I ama woodwork and design teacher and I talk this over with my graduating students.

Parker Tool Chest

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I am often asked by friends about what tools are essential and what are not. Here is a suggestion of what I would consider a basic and more than adequate home handy man (and woodwork hobbyist) tool chest.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------