PDA

View Full Version : Ryobi HBT255L Table Saw

`Felix`
20th January 2004, 02:53 PM
G'day All,

A week ago I purchased a Ryobi Table Saw from my local Bunnings store and after putting it all together found that the Rip Fence is of a very poor design. After speaking to Ryobi directly and their local service manager saying well no-one else has complained about it (and the rudeness of the guy) I am returning it for a refund.

After some investigation I have found that the GMC unit has a far better designed Rip Fence and for less money - so I am going down that path...

Yes I did think about just putting a better 3rd party fence on the Ryobi, however when I looked at the costs of doing this - I would be better buying a more expensive table saw. Being a humble home woodworker I just want to stay in the budget range of products.

Your comments and feedback is most welcome. But for my phone cards worth - I will be thinking twice before I buy Ryobi again.

nic
20th January 2004, 03:12 PM
From my point of view the only useable fence is a beismeyer type, where it locks at one end only and is easily adjustable.
Anything else will give you a hard time.
You can get a good table saw with proper fence for $1K, a "bit" more than a GMC but the pleasure of setting it once and not having to double checking each time you do a cut is more than worth it for me.

Good luck with the GMC

Cheers

Nic

Geno
20th January 2004, 03:43 PM
Whilst I haven't seen the Ryobi you bought, I am surprised to hear that in your opinion the GMC has a better fence than the Ryobi.
I recently sussed out the GMC Table saw at Bunnies and could not bring myself to purchase something with such a crap fence. Sure it is cheap as chips but I can't see how it would be usable with the standard fence. The fence felt like it had been pressed out of recycled coke cans and wobbled all over the place.
The Ryobi must be quite ordinary!

`Felix`
20th January 2004, 04:33 PM
Originally posted by Geno